Atlanta Ballet’s Nutcracker

Last Friday night my friend and I transformed into giddy six year olds watching the Atlanta Ballet’s Nutcracker at the historic Fox Theater.

The dancers were great, I was in fun company and it was so cute to see all of the little kids so excited to see the ballet. I knew I was in for a fun night.

We went for my birthday and my friend got us great seats. We were so close to the stage I felt like I could see the satin crease in the pointe shoes when the dancers went up on releve.

Atlanta Ballet's Nutcracker | www.flonmymind.com

See?! I think we were in the 5th row. This was also the first time I went to the Fox Theater and the theater itself is beautiful. The art history minor in me was loving the architecture/decor. It has an oriental style and the ceiling looks like the night sky speckled with stars.

I have been listening to the Nutcracker Suite all week in preparation for the show and the Atlanta Ballet impressed me with their performance. I didn’t like some of their interpretations as much as the traditional portrayal. I didn’t get the sheep thing, which I think was in place of the shepherdess. It was just weird. I liked the Russian dancers but I think it could have been better if they were more traditional and less wacky. This can also be attributed to the fact that I’m old fashioned. I’m thinking they must do this to keep the children’s attention.

Arabian (coffee) is always my favorite part of the Nutcracker. With most Arabians that I’ve seen, the pas de deux (or sometimes pas de trois) is very sensual and the ballerina is super bendy. Here’s a video clip of the Atlanta Ballet from 2010 that I think better explains what I’m talking about.

In this year’s pas de deux, the pair have this great lift where the ballerina bends in the shape of a pretzel and her feet end up by her ears. I would love to have her back flexibility!

I left leaving the theater wishing there was an Act III and my friend and I are already talking about going back next year. Tickets are still available and they’re $20 and up. I highly recommend catching a performance to put you in the Holiday spirit.

Can’t get enough #NutcrackerATL? Check out this behind-the-scenes video from this year’s Atlanta Ballet production. 

P.S. his magic was crazy. I honestly don’t know how he got some of these things to happen on stage.

If you visit Atlanta be sure to put the Atlanta Ballet and the Fox Theater on your must-see list!

Have you seen the Nutcracker this season? What’s your favorite Christmas tradition?

Subscribe via BlogLovin | Connect on TwitterFacebookInstagramPinterest

One thought on “Atlanta Ballet’s Nutcracker

  1. Pingback: Links I Love: Week 12 | Florida on my Mind

Leave a Reply

