College Going Out vs. Post Grad Going Out Style

When I went out in Miami I realized a few things. One, I’m old and two, going to the bars in college and going out post grad has two completely different styles.

Now, as a post-grad, I dress up a little more but this polyvore set was the norm for undergrads when I went out in Miami.

Colege Going Out style

I don’t think I would have ever rocked a crop top but my weekend uniform in college was jorts, a tank top and my jacks/sandals, regardless of the season. I never wore wedges, heels or anything that needed to be dry cleaned. But now, I can’t really get away with that in Atlanta.
I also want to add that this is not a South Beach outfit. Miami undergrads go all out for SOBE. This is more for college bars which is my favorite type of scene.
Here’s more of what I wear now…
Post Grad Going Out Style

Post Grad Going Out Style by nancyjoben featuring blue jeans
Madewell dress / Chevron top / J Crew black sequin tank / J.Crew blue jeans / J.Crew j. crew shorts / Vegan shoes / Tory Burch flat shoes / Necklace / Tory Burch tech accessory

This polyvore set correlates with what I wear out now. Atlanta is a city where girls don heels and statement jewelry with a silk top and skinnies on a Thursday night. I even tried to wear wedges in Miami and my friend was like “what are you doing?” I think dressing up just kind of stuck.
I still dress a lot more low-key than some other Atlanta girls. When it was warmer out, I wore my jacks maybe a little more than I should. I’m not sure if it’s because Florida is so laid back, the influence of SEC schools on the Atlanta party scene or what? But Atlanta definitely has a dressier dive bar scene.

Do you dress up more for a night out now that you’re out of college?
Do people dress up for the weekend at your university?
Let me know in the comments below!

Subscribe via BlogLovin | Connect on TwitterFacebookInstagramPinterest

One thought on “College Going Out vs. Post Grad Going Out Style

  1. Pingback: Links I Love: Week 9 | Florida on my Mind

Leave a Reply

