Sometimes life gets the best of ya

I feel like this blog is where I talk a big game but rarely follow through.

I created a morning routine but still wake up at 7:15, scrounge through my closet for something passable and haphazardly throw things in my Lilly lunchbox. I set my alarm for 6:15 (current alarm: Just Got Paid by *NSYNC) hoping that I might wake up to it this time but the first time I hear Justin start singing I snooze until 7:15. Any help on making me a morning person? I really want to start looking cute for work.

JIP is dead in the water. Joanie Improvement Project is more like Joanie lays on the couch project. I did walk today but those are more leisurely strolls than Olympic caliber power walking (yea, it’s an Olympic sport).

I’m not saying these things to be down on myself. I love my life. I have the bestest of besties (currently on hour two of our now almost daily Skype sessions). My sister frands say things like gander and tell me when to text and when not-to-text (although I do it anyway). We compare socially awkward stories. They know what kind of bridesmaid dresses they’re going to purchase, where to take me to get schwasty and that I love Pina Coladas (and getting caught in the rain).

I go out and have fun in Atlanta with great people. I love doing what I do. Sure, I may never wake up early enough to wear makeup for work, or do a face mask every Sunday but this is life. Yea, we’re millennials but most of us don’t have our shit together. It just looks that way on Instagram. Hashtag deuces.

4 thoughts on “Sometimes life gets the best of ya

  1. joan@performancebg.com

    You are so funny!

    > On September 30, 2013 at 9:09 PM Florida on my Mind > wrote: > > Joanie O. posted: “I feel like this blog is where I talk a big game but > rarely follow through. I created a morning routine but still wake up at 7:15, > scrounge through my closet for something passable and haphazardly throw things > in my Lilly lunchbox. I set my alarm for 6” >

    Reply
  2. Megan

    Don’t hit snooze! I know it’s easier said than done, but I ALWAYS feel better when I just get up and don’t hit snooze, even if I’m reeeeeeally tired for the first five minutes or so.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

