Getting into a Morning Routine

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I found this article last week on LaurenConrad.com called “Rise and Shine: How to Make Your Mornings Brighter” by Allison Norton all about creating (and sticking) to a morning routine.

This article couldn’t have come at a better time for me and I’m guessing most of y’all. School is starting back up and, even if you’re a post grad, the summer is ending. No more concerts, BBQs, beach trips and late nights out. Soon it will be sweater weather and I will be freezing in my not-well-insulated apartment.

This summer I felt very scattered. Coupons, notebooks, to-do lists and magazines clutter my desk. I have been going to bed late, but not accomplishing much, and waking up late. I have been even sleeping trough my alarms which make for rough mornings.

I have made my own timeline to follow for the morning with a few changes from Allison’s suggestion. What I did was I worked backward from when I HAVE to leave my house and ticked back everything I want to get done before I leave in the morning. In order to complete everything on my list, I have to wake up an hour earlier at 6:15. I think the first week is going to be rough but I feel like in the end it will pay off and I will have a less hectic morning. (FYI I have to leave the house at 7:45 so I was leaving myself 30 mins to get ready, pack lunch AND eat breakfast… it sucked).

Here are some of the tips and tricks I will be employing to try and make my mornings go by more smoothly

Plan, plan plan! My mom picks out her work outfits for the week on Sunday night. She says it saves her time in the morning. I’m trying to get into the habit of making my lunch the night before and at least thinking about my outfit. These little timesavers can make your morning easier.

Don’t hit snooze. This article says that snoozing actually doesn’t help you at all! I’m a notorious snoozer so I’m going to try and set my alarms to get up at the first ring then make my bed like the LC article says.

Don’t beat yourself up if it doesn’t happen overnight. I’m writing this tip mainly for myself. Big changes take time, you can’t just expect to see instant results. If you accidentally sleep late a few days remember the frazzled feeling and start over. This will be worth it in the end.

Now for some weekend fun! Smith's Pie Filling Candles

This weekend I got the BEST candles at Homegoods. They smell amazing and I love the gingham toppers. I’ve been trying to find a link to buy these online for about an hour but I cannot find them on the interwebz. I got Maple Pecan and Spiced Pumpkin in the little jars (Only $5 each) and the large one is Vanilla eggnog (for only $7). They also had a blueberry pie one and an apple pie candle. I might have to go back and get the other ones if these burn well. I would check your local Homegoods/TJ Maxx/Marshalls to see if they’ve ended up in your hood too!

painted post print www.FLOnMyMind.comI also received my Painted Post print in the mail. A week or two ago, I entered a giveaway on Your Sorority Sister and I won!! The prize was this fun sorority customized state print from Painted Post, an Etsy retailer.  I won a sorority print, but if my gift was unrestricted I would have definitely gotten this one. I love the colors in the example and I think it would fit in perfectly with my coastal apartment.

P.S. if you’re wondering where I got this bulletin board, I made it! There’s a very early post about it, here!

What did you do this weekend? Do you have a morning routine you stick to? Let me know in the comments below!

Don’t forget to connect with me on Twitter, like Florida on my Mind’s Facebook page and follow on Bloglovin!

5 thoughts on “Getting into a Morning Routine

  1. J. Parker

    Oohh I just stocked up on a ton of candles from Yankee Candle but those sound super yummy smelling! I’m getting ridiculously excited about the return of pumkin-everything already… Yum!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Sometimes life gets the best of ya | Florida on my Mind

  3. Pingback: Monday OOTD | Florida on my Mind

Leave a Reply

