How to: Cold Brew Coffee to the Perfect Iced Coffee!

I saved an article from the Pioneer Woman about making the perfect iced coffee and I’ve always wanted to try it out! So I set out to make my own version.

I normally don’t drink any caffeine in the morning, just a hot tea when it’s cold out. I don’t really like hot coffee but I love iced coffee (my fav is the McDonald’s kind. It’s large, cheap and almost cloyingly sweet but amazing). I’ve tried iced coffee in a carton but all of them are just artificial tasting. So this week, I tested out a method to make my own.

The cast of characters needed for my experiment (minus the rubberband).

The cast of characters needed for my experiment (minus the rubber band).

All of the ground coffee just chilling in the pitcher.

All of the ground coffee just chilling in the pitcher.

Here’s all that I needed to make the iced coffee and it was super simple. You really just need time to let the coffee grounds steep. One tip I have to share is put the water in the pitcher FIRST! The first time I tried it, I had the filters burst on me but if you let it steep (kinda like a tea bag) it works! The coffee will be a little weak but that also depends on how long you want it to chill out in the fridge.

Ingredients

  • Coffee Grounds (I used 5 tablespoons)
  • Pitcher Full of Water
  • 2 Coffee Filters
  • Rubber band
Here's a pic of the steeped coffee when I woke up this morning!

Here’s a pic of the steeped coffee when I woke up this morning!

1. Fill the pitcher full of water.
2. Double up on the coffee filters and fill them with 5 tablespoons of your favorite ground coffee
3. Place the filters on the top of the pitcher and hold it in place with a rubber band
4. Let it steep overnight
5. Enjoy!

 

enjoy iced coffee

 

Leave a Reply

