International Badge Day

Florida On My Mind-Badge

Today, as you all may know, is NPC’s International Badge Day! I wore my pin proudly today and I forgot how good it felt to put it on. I added some dangles since I last wore it (trying to keep up with the Jones this coming summer at Convention) and felt pretty spiffy all day.

I think the thing I love most about my badge is the history behind it. Alpha Delta Pi was founded over 160 years ago (before the Civil War to put it into context). Here’s a blurb about the ADPi pin from the Alpha Delta Pi website.

“The first diamond-shaped badge was worn by the Adelpheans in 1852. Stars were not included on this first badge, but it did have a monogram of the Wesleyan pin attached to the badge by a link chain, thus forming a guard.

In 1854, the stars were added, but it was not until 1874 that the stars and the clasped hands were raised. This design remained with only slight modifications until 1906 when, at Alpha Delta Pi’s first convention, Nanaline King presented a new design for the pin. Her design was a smaller gold badge with a black enamel center which pictured the clasped hands, the two stars, and the greek letters, Alpha Delta Phi. This design was adopted by the convention and is the same pin we have today, with Alpha Delta Phi being changed to Alpha Delta Pi at the 1913 convention.”

Sorry for the length but I love the history. The pin hasn’t changed for a century. Thousands of sisters have worn the same clasped hands.

My badge also has a personal history. I was initiated by my mom with her pin. I purposely got the same style to remind me of her and our ADPi sisterhood. The only difference is, she has garnet points and I have sapphire points. My sister now is the keeper of my mother’s pin and she was initiated with it as well with my mom and I both there. Three family members, three different chapters and universities, one sisterhood. That is Alpha Delta Pi in my mind.

Did you participate in Badge Day this year? Let me know in the comments!

9 thoughts on “International Badge Day

  1. Jen

    I love this post and the short history lesson! It is so sweet that you share your sisterhood with your mom and sister 🙂

    Reply
  2. preppysara

    Wow, what a special story! How amazing to share your sisterhood with your mom AND sister! My sister has just gone Panhellenic but unfortunately her school does not offer my organization! Wish we could have shared this special bond the way you do with your family members!

    Reply
    1. Joanie O. Post author

      Thank you! And even if she can’t be a member of your sorority, y’all will have can share the NPC sisterhood! if my sister didn’t go ADPi, she’d still have philanthropy events, sisterhood events, socials. Same events just different letters and causes 😛

      Reply
  3. joan@performancebg.com

    You melt my heart………love mom

    > On March 4, 2013 at 9:12 PM Florida on my Mind > wrote: > > Joanie O. posted: ” Today, as you all may know, is NPC’s International Badge > Day! I wore my pin proudly today and I forgot how good it felt to put it on. I > added some dangles since I last wore it (trying to keep up with the Jones this > coming summer at Convention) and felt ” >

    Reply

Leave a Reply

