Free Ways to Continue With Your Healthy Resolutions!

This is my Guest Post from last Saturday. It was originally posted on Courtney’s blog, You Are What You Wear. Enjoy!

Last month-ish, Courtney blogged about trying to find ways to stick to your resolutions (want to read it? Click here).  I have to say I am normally in the same boat, of having the same three to five resolutions (saving money, trying to be healthier etc.), then giving up at the first sale and the first sight of a chocolate fudge brownie.

This year has been different, at least on the healthy resolution front (a Lilly sale gets me every time). Here are some tips, from a novice non-nutritionist, non-fitness person to help keep your healthy resolution on track—for free!

source: Blogilates.com

source: Blogilates.com

YouTube Workout Videos: I normally trolled YouTube for videos of people ranting about pop culture (I see ya Kingsley), dance videos of people with way more skillz, and songs I’m too poor to buy so I can replay hundreds of times to get my fill. I was not turning to YouTube to feel the burn, but damn I did!

There are many YouTubers out there but my favorite definitely has to be Cassey Ho and her Blogilates videos. She has tons of videos for cardio and fat burning (including high-intensity and, of course, Pilates). The best part, is that you rarely need equipment. Definitely check her out. Your butt will thank you!
MFP

MyFitnessPal: Do you really know how many calories you are consuming, or even how much you’re supposed to have? MyFitnessPal is a great website and app that helps you track your calories and exercise. They have practically everything in the database and you can track your calories burned as well.

I always thought I was eating healthy foods but I didn’t know about portion control until I took the time to track it.

source: google image search

source: google image search

Fitblr for Support: I’m assuming most know about Tumblr and their blogging community, But Tumblr can be used for more than just Gifs about being hungover. Tumblr has a very active fitness/healthy living community and they call themselves fitblr (fit-Tumblr, get it?). If you’re ever looking for motivation you can click on this tag (you don’t even have to have a Tumblr if you want to publicly blog) and instantly you feel your legs reaching for your running shoes.

You can create your healthy living Tumblr to blog about your own experiences (more than just what you’re eating like on MyFitnessPal) and get support from others from around the world!

Make it Easy (Printable): Even though I was doing all of these things, I still found it hard to track everything, during the work day especially, cue#PostGradProblems. I wanted something that I could hold and see in my planner but wasn’t too cumbersome as a separate food journal. I spent my lunch break making these fun little printables to help me stay on track. I feel accomplished when I check off the boxes and I still use my online tools.

WEEKLY GOAL

Use this link to download: Weekly Goal Worksheet 

To explain some of the other ones, the 20/10 means 20 minutes of stretching and then 10 minutes of strength exercises (like abs and planks and all that jazz) and blog really just means log your meals on MyFitnessPal, but that obviously wouldn’t have fit in the line.

How do you track your healthy lifestyle? Do you uses some of these websites and tips? Let me know in the comments!

2 thoughts on “Free Ways to Continue With Your Healthy Resolutions!

  1. joan@performancebg.com

    I read this earlier and loved it! You are truly inspiring…mom On February 12, 2013 at 12:55 PM Florida on my Mind wrote:

    > Joanie O. posted: “This is my Guest Post from last Saturday. It was > originally posted on Courtney’s blog, You Are What You Wear. Enjoy! Last > month-ish, Courtney blogged about trying to find ways to stick to your > resolutions (want to read it? Click here). I have to say I” >

    Reply
  2. synaptol

    This is really attention-grabbing, You are an overly skilled
    blogger. I’ve joined your feed and look ahead to in quest of more of
    your fantastic post. Additionally, I have shared your
    web site in my social networks

    Reply

Leave a Reply

