New Year’s Resolution Slump

The cupcakes and green tea, unfortunately, do not fit into my new budget.

The cupcakes and green tea, unfortunately, do not fit into my new budget.

I’m guessing I’m not the only one who who gets really motivated then just quits a week in. I’m definitely feeling the slump. This year I basically have one main resolution and that is to start becoming smarter with my finances.

Gone are my college days of scrimping and saving for another fraternity philanthropy shirt (all my NPC sorority sisters know this line “but c’mon we need the MAX points for shirt orders“). Now that I have a full-time position, I have real life expenses (think student loans, living on my own, and an old car that’s starting to get finicky). I think keeping a budget and actually sticking to it, along with saving to add to my emergency fund is the best option and it will help me feel like a “grown-up.”
I’ve already have had my first set back (Lilly Pulitzer gets me every time) but a setback is not a reason to give up. Here’s to a 2013 with a more fiscally responsible me!
What are your New Year’s Resolutions for this year? Have you had a setback yet? How did you get back on track? Let me know in the comments!

 

Leave a Reply

