12 Days of Christmas Day 2: Gingerbread House Tips

I’m sitting here and watching White Christmas as we speak (err type). It was on AMC tonight, still my absolute fav!

My gingerbread house after I put it together but before I started the decoration process.

My gingerbread house after I put it together but before I started the decoration process.

Anyway I was going to post some tips and tricks I learned from my Gingerbread House cooking class.

A View from above.

A View from above.

  • Use a straight edge to create a 90 degree angle when you start the walls. It will make sure everything is even and the sides will connect
  • Don’t scrimp on the icing, it’s the super glue of Gingerbread houses
  • Before you bake off the sides, cute out some windows and put some hard candy pieces inside = stained glass windows
  • Peel and eat twizzlers is a great decorating tool
  • Dont be afraid to use sugars and sprinkles
  • Don’t over decorate the roof, it might fall in.
gingerbread house side

The view of my roof decorations. see how the twizzlers made some fun designs!

I hope this sparks some creativity.

Have you made any sweet treats yet this Christmas season? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

