Caramelized Onion and Bacon Mac and Cheese

For Thanksgiving this year, I decided that I was now southern so we made Mac and Cheese. I was originally going to use this recipe from Martha Stewart but it called for a lot of milk and we were running low cue this recipe from Southern Living. I followed the recipe pretty closely but before I made the roux I cooked up some bacon (make it extra crispy so it doesn’t get lost in the mac) and then caramelized some red onions in the bacon fat. I also added a garlic/herb bread crumb crust

My mac and cheese (minus the bread crumb crust.)

I’m very sad I didn’t take a picture of the after but I just didn’t think about it. It was the best mac and cheese of my life. It was slightly smoky and a great compliment to all the traditional Thanksgiving flavors. It was a major hit on my table.

What is your favorite way to make Mac and Cheese? Do you have a variation to share? Let me know in the comments!

2 thoughts on “Caramelized Onion and Bacon Mac and Cheese

Leave a Reply

